· 

Earth's Very Atmosphere

A short story of mine called "Earth's Very Atmosphere" was published today in Belle Ombre. You can read it here.

I feel oddly proud of this story, though it might look like great shakes to no one other than me. I took a less common approach to telling the story, describing it through the backstory underlying a room and the objects in it, rather than portraying a plot. This might limit its appeal, but oh well. No six-figure movie deal for me, then.

I wrote it specifically for a certain journal's themed call for submissions. They provided a short phrase, and one had to write a story somehow inspired by it. I banged away at the story for several weeks, gave it to a few readers to critique, reworked and refined it...

Sent it off to the journal in question, and, less than twenty-four hours later, received a rejection notice.

When they really like the story but unfortunately can't use it, journals will send you a personalized rejection. Didn't get one of those. Just a form letter.

Calling upon the orneriness that I use in place of dauntless optimism, I kept submitting the thing to various journals and magazines. After twelve rejections, the thirteenth one accepted it. I hope you don't think I did a We Are The Champions pose at my desk when I got the email. I'm too cool.

Many thanks to the editors of Belle Ombre for giving the story a home. Drop by their site to read other fine fiction as well.