· 

得体知れぬ始末

過激主義者とは、過激な行動をする人のことではない。

An extremist is not a person who commits extreme acts.


むしろ過激主義者とは、「もし私が見てきたことを世の中の皆が見てきたとしたら、もし私が聞いてきたことを世の中の皆が聞いてきたとしたら、きっと私と同じ考え方を皆もするに違いない」と信じてしまう人のことだ。

An extremist is a person who believes, "If everyone in the world had seen what I've seen and heard what I've heard, they'd all think like me."


言い直すと「私がもらってきた情報を世の中の皆ももらえば、私と同じ結論にもたどり着くに決まっている」と。

Putting it another way: "If everyone in the world received the same information as me, everyone would reach the same conclusions as me."


それは過激主義だ。

That's extremism.