· 

got your shameface on

先天的な泣き方。

 

後天的な笑い方。

Natural-born crying.

 

Learnt laughing.


新生児は産まれて直ぐ泣くよね。つまり産まれて直ぐ泣ける。

Babies cry from the moment they're born. That is, they're born knowing how to cry.


しかしいつから笑うのか。産まれて暫く笑うことはないと、なんとなく思う。

But when do they start laughing? For a while after they're born, not at all.


ほほえむ大人の顔を見て本能的にその表情を真似てほほえむという。

They say that babies, when they see smiling adults, imitate those smiling faces and smile themselves.


だが「ははは」と声を出して笑うことは産まれて直ぐにはできないよね。笑うという概念がないだろう。

But a "wah-ha-ha" sort of laugh seems beyond them. For a while after birth, the whole concept of laughing may still be yet unlearnt.


泣くことが先天的で、笑うことが後天的かと思うと、うん、なるほど、とすぐ納得がいってしまう。

The idea that crying can be instinctive, while laughing must be learnt, seems a little too self-evident to me.


そう思ってしまう僕は、どんだけマイナスな奴なんだろう。

And what does that say about what a negative pessimist I am?