· 

monitory tales

驚いたことで制度化した女性差別の事件が報道されている。もちろん驚いたのは、差別があることではなく、報道されていることの方だけどね。(新聞の記事へのリンク。)

Institutionalized sexism is in the news in Japan today. I suppose the big surprise is that it's made it into the news here at all, for a change. (English link to the story here.)


「自分が早く結婚すればいい」

「産めないのか?」

なぜ女性が早く結婚すればいいというのかな。まあ、わかるよね。自民党の議員みたいな男の考え方によると女性は、男性が家畜のように所有すべきものだからね。なぜ女性としてそして人間としての価値が子どもを産めるか産めないかによるものだとされるのかな。まあ、それもわかるよね。ある種の男性の考え方によると、女性は「歩く子宮」という動物だけだから。

Brief summary: At a hearing of the Tokyo Metropolitan Assembly on May 18, Assemblywoman Ayaka Shiomura was asking a question related to the national trend toward marriage and childbirth later in life when, from the Liberal Democratic Party seating area of the assembly hall, male assemblymembers heckled her, calling out, "Why don't you hurry up and get married then?" and "What, can't you have any children?"


女性の議員がそんないやしむべきヤジを浴びせられた場面で、男性が主体となっている議会のほとんどが、抱腹絶倒状態だったという。

This despicable outburst was met, as you might guess, by gales of laughter from the mostly male assembly membership.


もしそこにいたら、僕も笑っていたかな。

I wonder if I myself would have laughed.


若い頃の自分だったら笑ったと思う。僕が育った宗教的、社会的な環境では女性は、惨い軽蔑という軽蔑をされていたとは言えなくとも、人間としての価値が男性と同等だとされていたともとても言えない。そして僕がその男尊女卑という価値観に従っていた。自分で考えるべき年齢になっても従っていた。

There was a time in life when I certainly would have. I was raised in a religious and social environment in which women were, if not denigrated, at least not held to be entirely equal in dignity. I adopted this attitude even beyond the age at which I ought to have begun thinking for myself and to have known better.


ところで、決して女性の味方ではないといっていいその自民党の、上の者は、野次る議員が誰だか絶対に追及せず、絶対にその名を公開しない旨をはっきりと表明しているけれど、それこそ暗に自分らが悪いことを犯したことを認めているとなるよね。

By the way, the leadership of the conservative Liberal Democratic Party, in what amounts to a tacit admission of wrongdoing, has refused to name the assemblymen who made the sexually harrassing remarks. What, can't you take a joke?